Oprah, Ernie Banks, Bill Clinton, Others To Get Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Source: NBC Chicago

Media maven Oprah Winfrey and famed Chicago Cubs shortstop Ernie Banks are among this year’s recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom award, the White House announced.

President Barack Obama said Thursday that Winfrey and Banks, aka Mr. Cub, are among 16 people to get the award, considered the nation’s highest civilian honor. Other recipients include Gloria Steinem, Bill Clinton, Ben Bradlee, Dan Inouye and Loretta Lynn.

“This year’s honorees have been blessed with extraordinary talent, but what sets them apart is their gift for sharing that talent with the world,” Obama said in a statement. “It will be my honor to present them with a token of our nation’s gratitude.”

Winfrey signed off from her iconic, Chicago-based syndicated talk show in May 2011 after 25 years. She left to dedicate time to her Oprah Winfrey Network, which recently reported a profit.

To read this article in its entirety visit NBC Chicago.