NFL Says Officials Erred At End Of Redskins-Giants Game | Roland Martin Reports

NFL Says Officials Erred At End Of Redskins-Giants Game

Source: AP / Fox Sports

NEW YORK – Redskins coach Mike Shanahan spoke Monday with the NFL’s director of officiating after the league said Sunday night’s crew made an error on Washington’s final drive.

The league said officials should have stopped play and eliminated confusion about the down and distance at the end of the Giants‘ 24-17 victory at Washington.

”I talked to Dean earlier today, he gave me a call and just went over the scenario,” Shanahan said, referring to Dean Blandino, who oversees NFL officiating. ”Obviously they made a mistake and you live with it.”

With New York leading by seven points just after the two-minute warning, a catch by the Redskins’ Pierre Garcon on second-and-5 was spotted short of a first down at the Washington 45. Referee Jeff Triplette signaled third down. But the head linesman, with the Redskins in a hurry-up offense, incorrectly motioned for the crew to advance the chains, which caused the down boxes to read first down.

To read this article in its entirety visit Fox Sports.