FAMU, Other HBCU Programs to Miss 2015 Postseason Due To APR Penalties

Source: Matt Norlander / CBS Sports

An increase in minimum requirement for the NCAA’s Academic Progress Rate (APR) means there are a few more schools facing postseason bans in college basketball next season than what we saw in 2013-14.

(A primer on what the APR is and how it’s calculated can be found here.)

The NCAA released its APR numbers earlier than usual when the report came out on Wednesday, and here are the teams that will be ineligible to compete in postseason men’s basketball play in 2015, three of which come from the Southland Conference:

Alabama State (SWAC)
Appalachian State (Southern)
Florida A&M (MEAC)
Houston Baptist (Southland)
Lamar (Southland)
San Jose State (Mountain West)
Central Arkansas (Southland)
Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Horizon League)

There are a handful of schools facing varying levels of lesser punishment related to the APR; the NCAA has three levels of enforcement. A Level One penalty means teams must reduce practice time in favor of study hours. Level Two: loss of practice time/more study hours as well as strict “academic activities.” A Level Three penalty envelops levels One and Two and also can entail “financial aid reductions; additional practice and contest restrictions, coach-specific penalties (including game and recruiting restrictions); restricted access to practice for incoming students who fall below certain academic standards; restricted membership; and potential multi-year bans on postseason competition.”

To read this article in its entirety visit CBS Sports.